Life's a Pumpkin

Living one great, big adventure in New Zealand!

New Job, New Season

New job, new season for me.

Today I accepted a new job opportunity as a Clinic Director at Peak Pilates and Physiotherapy. What an incredible new adventure. I feel quite humbled and blessed at the same time.

As you’ve all known it took me months and months (well, 5 total) to transfer my PT license from the USA to a physio license in NZ. The job I had lined up prior to moving here fell through because it took so long to get my license.

My license finally came through on February 21st.

The season of waiting was interesting. It wasn’t good or bad but a bit of both depending on the day. Sometimes I felt like I had a purpose for the day, other days I didn’t accomplish much at all besides inventing a gluten-free muffin recipe. I feel very blessed to have had time to refine so many different interests, however. Some of my projects included website and graphic design, writing, working on my family memoir, experimenting in the kitchen, and photography. Perhaps the most meaningful time was spent building relationships with the wonderful people we’ve met in NZ so far. What a blessing indeed to have had the time to do all these things.

I plan to continue all of these projects as I take on my new role as a director at Peak Pilates and Physiotherapy. I’ve gotten the ball rolling on most of these interests and will just continue them in my spare time.

As a clinic director I will be managing and mentoring other physios, networking, and of course the fun admin stuff. There are so many blessings that come along with this new opportunity I don’t even know where to start to list them. All I know is that all my experiences up to this point have and will continue to propel me forward. I thank SageMED a ton for being my impetus for this new opportunity since my management experience with SageMED was definitely a stepping/leaping stone.

One really awesome perk of joining the Peak team is that I will become a certified Pilates instructor. My first role will be a clinical physiotherapist, but I will also have opportunities to teach and use Pilates in my treatments. Other certifications will come my way in areas like manual therapy and movement systems. Yippee for professional development!

I wanted to thank you, my dear family and friends, for your support and prayers…and for taking interest in our lives as Brock and I have been getting more and more settled in NZ.

I end with this: always keep your head up, friend, and tackle one day at a time. Always look for the good in everything.

Cheers and much love from NZ!

Irina (Ira)

 

 

separator2

My new bio:

bioIrina’s treatment approach focuses on movement systems and motor control, manual therapy, biomechanics, core stability and athletic training. She sees many different types of patients, ranging from the weekend-warrior type to the everyday computer-worker. Throughout her experience Irina has been fortunate enough to work with numerous types of orthopedic conditions. Professional development has always been a high priority and has been the impetus for Irina’s certification as a Pilates Instructor and various manual therapy courses. Irina uses her education and experience as a Doctor of Physical Therapy to promote evidenced-based natural medicine. She understands that nutrition is a key component of her patients’ health and works with many health professionals to provide holistic care to her patients. Irina enjoys the outdoors, is an avid hiker and mountain-climber, and loves ice cream, cake and cookies…hence her online nutrition blog revivingtraditions.com.

 

 

2 comments on “New Job, New Season

  1. Liza Unger (Rademacher)
    April 14, 2014

    Ira!! Congratulations!!! I am sooo excited for you!!! You are amazing and such a hard worker!!!

    • Reviving Traditions
      April 15, 2014

      Oh thank you so much Liza!! Love and miss you my friend.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2014 by in Simply Living.

Recent Posts